The Price You’ll Pay

The Price You'll Pay
You’ve so much to say
But never to me
Then you push me away
As I beg and plea
With no chance to please you
So why waste my time
When all that you do
Is sit there and whine
Creating dissention
As you vie for attention
From the hopeless ranks
Who cordially invite you
To rob our piggy banks
The sequestered bits & pieces
You’ve gathered ‘neath your bed
Among the rings and pretty things
You’ll carry when you’re dead
As you board the crossing boat
Along the River Jordan
I fear my dear the fare imposed
For you will be inordinate
So much more than half the pence
You’ve tallied in your head
The price you’ll pay for pinching hearts
So hard that they have bled
Will be excessive

©Kay Salady

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 6, 2016, in poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

