It all Began

It all Began

It all began . . .

her wings unfurled

lifting me above the world

that I had known

I’d dreamt of her

so long ago

but never did

I reason so

much love would come to me

This wide-eyed thing

so innocent

fell from the sky

the heavens sent

an answer to my prayer

I felt such comfort

‘neath her wings

and sought to taste

the gentle springs

inside of her desire

And oh the scent

as her flower burst

never satisfying thirst

nor satiating need

Yet had I known

by holding on

I’d singe her wings

and find her gone

I’d not have hungered so

But how to take

away this need

how to pluck

this tiny seed

she’d buried in my mind

I want to soar – I long to fly

beyond this lowly

realm that I

might hold her once again

For these aching

arms of mine

will suffer ’til

the ends of time

and all my life

I feel that I

will hasten for

the chance to try

to somehow make it right

Could I return

to yesterday

I’d love her

in the tender way

she wanted and deserved

Now it’s too late

for me I fear

I’ve lost all that

my heart holds dear

Although I know

I am insane

for crying out

my Angel’s name

and can’t accept reality

that she’s too far

away from me

to ever hear

my earnest plea

On bended knee

I beg you please

can we return

to where it all began

 

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on March 11, 2016, in Kay Salady Poetry, love poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

