Heart on a Sleeve

Heart on a Sleeve

I hold it in time and again
Until I burst from all the hurt
Swallowed in obedience to you
The bright red rash upon my ass
So conveniently hidden from view
Gives no indication to the rule of thumb persuasion
Endowed so very generously by you
This flesh cries out for reason
Why do you commit such treason
To this soluble soul melting away
A heart that once was whole bleeds into a bowl
Dripping on fine linen as your prey
I now commit a sin by slowly giving in
And falter at the precipice of pain
You must know I face the option of seeking the adoption
Of diversion

©Kay Salady

Image: Painted Heart on sleeve by Narakafurin on DeviantArt

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 24, 2016, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

