Until I’m Free

Until I'm Free

“A woman’s greatest strength is the power of her will.” -kay salady

I lie dormant
Waiting to emerge
Aching for a surge of nerve
To open up these wings in desperation
And they flutter
Inside the walls you’ve placed them in
And I try so hard to quiet them to no avail
You break my spirit
By wiping all the scales away
But I swear to fly another day
As you cast your eyes away from me
In that time you’ll fail to see
The blush of color has returned
And the fire within my spirit burns
As I perch upon the highest sill
And spread my wings so wide until
I’m free

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 29, 2016, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

