Suffocating Slumber

Nightmare

These dreams are dreadful
And encumbered by my slumber
The spell that I am under
Holds me captive to a call
From somewhere deep inside of me
I anticipate that possibly
You may be aware
That I lie pleading
In the hollow of a bed
Never to rest a forlorn head
Tucked away so long ago
I am the long forgotten
Whose lost and lonely cries
That you no longer recognize
Echo on and on
How arresting to my soul
That a love once beautiful
Has gone astray
To agonize a troubled mind
That cannot leave the past behind
Withers away
Inside your shadowed walls
Tiptoeing as you call out
For your prey

©Kay Salady

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on July 28, 2016, in dark poetry, Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

