First Love

first-love

Redolent of leather
And amaretto merged together
On an evening filled with rain
The musk and the refrain
Of Chicago filled the air
The faded jeans you used to wear
As I tousled your dark hair
And kissed the warmth of you
Falling onto your bare chest
While you told me all the best
Of your intentions
All my life I’ll recognize
The moment I first saw your eyes
Meeting my astonished gaze
That day you set my heart ablaze
We were so in awe with feeling
With no idea that we were dealing
With a love that would not die
No matter how much we both tried
To finish our first chapter
Because the first lives on long after
We let go

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on October 8, 2016, in Kay Salady Poetry, love poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

