And This will be My Destiny

crossroad
I stagger down a broken road
My destiny to die alone
Looms before me in the dust
With all my dreams now turned to rust
This bitter taste upon my tongue
With afterthought that I have come
To a crossroads whereupon
I tread lightly o’er the days
Ere I embrace the last remains
Of all that I am dreaming of
And all that I have come to love
I had no forethought I would come
To the point where youth was gone
As fleeting as the autumn leaves
On burnished limbs of tawny trees
I often question my existence
Feign to offer much resistance
Knowing in the realm of things
This is a time that nature brings
With outstretched hand I sweep away
My fervent prayer to always stay
And so I round the nearest bend
Searching for a way to end
This journey that is now complete
Then I will lay down at the feet
Of one who waits for only me
And this will be my destiny
©Kay Salady
About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 18, 2017, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

