Walk Away

walk-away
Somehow I felt afraid
And carried so much shame
For the choices that I’d made
Were not my own
In the land of the coerced
Of which I am well-versed
I was pushed headfirst
Into the mire
My skull stuck in a hole
With no ally to console
While those left in control
Held me down
Knowing well that it was wrong
Being there for so damn long
Singing the same sad song
Became routine
For the insane
Without a name
Scarred with all the blame
Inflicted by the guilty
How does one retrieve
That for which she grieves
And somehow gain reprieve
For innocence lost
The price seems far too high
For tears that never dry
During prayer high as the sky
That went unheard
No, not a word
Now I refuse to beg
As I urge on my kicking legs
That will blast through as powder kegs
To walk away
 
©Kay Salady
About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on January 30, 2017, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

