This Age

black-white-by-adli

I stood before the crowd

Took a bow, then said out loud

I am so very proud to reach this stage

To have surpassed it all

To have soared and then to fall

For what is life at all but my own book

I wrote a chapter, flipped a page

Recalled a memory worn with age

Made the choice to risk it all

For my own good

I will not sit with sad regret

For all that I have not done yet

In this short span that has gone by

In but the blink of my own eye

As I look into the mirror

I ask myself who is in here

Do I know you, do I want to

Perhaps I do

Do I have time to unwind

All the days that were unkind

That have taken tender youth

Away from view

And do you possibly look at me

The way I see myself

I have battled and I’ve won

I have lost and come undone

Cried my tears, faced my fears and overcome

Yes, overcome

I am stronger than I know

Like a mighty tree that grows within a forest

I had been blinded by those trees

Now I can finally see me

As I stand before the crowd

Take a bow and say out loud

I am so very proud to reach this age

©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 5, 2017, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

