Ceaseless

clitoria

A phantom drifted by to beset me with cold sweat

I thought I had let go of those feelings of regret

Tormented by the relic of the past who came to call

Apparently his memory was not erased at all

He sank his teeth into my neck and tasted my sweet blood

Turning my silk butterfly into a flower bud

Then crushing it the nectar flowed onto his surly tongue

And now that he has tasted me he feels that he has won

 

©Kay Salady

 

Image:  Clitoria mariana or Butterfly-pea belongs to the Fabaceae family, and is a genus of flowering plants that are insect pollinated.

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on February 9, 2017, in Kay Salady Poetry, poetry, the poetry of kay salady, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

