As a Mother

I stare at your reflection

And gather my collection of yesterdays 

The special way you care

And all the things we share

Between the pages of our book

Each photo and each place

The look upon your face

Your hand enlaced with mine

As we walk on down the line

Of a broken boulevard

Playing in a yard 

Now torn and tattered

Where nothing ever mattered

But the landscape

While you and I got lost

Two little roses in the frost

Our beauty soon forgotten

I remember you

Clinging to me through

Each ill begotten storm 

You held me as a Mother

And there will be no other

In my life as dear as you

Your hands, beyond compare

Are lovely and so fair

Diligent to care for those in need

For all you say and do

My Sister, I love you

How can I possibly convey

The way I feel
©Kay Salady

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on May 12, 2017, in kay salady's poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

