Doorstep of a Stranger

I’m sitting on the doorstep of a stranger

Making myself small so he can’t see

That I may be defenseless from the danger

And I am not as brave as I could be

Yesterday I vowed that I would struggle

Against most anything to change my life

But now I find myself beneath the rubble

Of bigger things that cut just like a knife

As I look back I realize the blessings

That slipped between my fingers in a day

Yet I had faith my future would be brighter

If I’d let go of everything and pray

I’ve come too far to settle for a valley 

When my big dream was set upon a hill

This is not the stage for my finale

And I’ll be damned if they can break my will

©Kay Salady
Image Credit:  girlvsglobe.com

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on June 12, 2017, in kay salady's poetry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

