Goldfish Dreams

 

The goldfish flew out from the sea

Onto the shore in quantities

So large that I could hardly see

The sand or shell for fishery

Their sparkling eyes and mouths agape

Sent quite a shock throughout the Cape

As I and Dandy tried to walk

About the shore as fish kerplopped

Around our feet and above our heads

In colors bright of orange and red

Just as a goldfish soared up high

I jumped and reached toward the sky

Then caught it in my arms midair

That splendid fish yes I did dare

In my green dress and matching hat

I caught a fish imagine that

And as I stood beside the sea

My Dandy snapped a pic of me

Looking quaint with my fine catch

My fish and I were quite a match

A seabird came to fetch my baubles

At which time began the squabbles

About the money that we’d make

From dreaming of the fish I’d take

From sea of green beneath the blue

Yes it will come I swear ‘tis true

Then I shall sit beside the sea

With honeyed bread and lemon tea

Writing poems about our love

Then painting goldfish up above

The sea of green and sky of blue

With rainbow colors just for two

 

©Kay Salady

 

About Kay Salady

I write about the greatest force on earth that, I believe, lives on forever and surpasses all else. "All your poems read like I am watching an artist use words instead of colours full of feeling." ~Anon.

Posted on November 21, 2011, in poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. What a photo!! I love your flight of imagination here.

    Like

    • Yes, I had found this photo and found it intriguing. I had a time, not so long ago, that I’d dreamed of fish flying out of the sea . . . all sorts of fish. It was a persistent dream and I’d wondered what it meant. I finally found that dreaming of goldfish meant money was coming your way. Aha! I wonder if this artist knew the same. Well, I’m still waiting. I also love the photo.

      Like

  2. Whoa! Very clever and great pic! K

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I really like the artwork you posted for the prompt and made a copy to put up on my fridge for my family to see as we are half vegetarian and half meat eaters. I am a vegetarian. 🙂

      Like

  3. This is a fabulous flight of fantasy, reminded me of mermaids for some reason. Really good artwork too. Would be wonderful if you did come into a pile of money.
    I haven;t seen the word Kerplop in donkeys ages…. made mes smile.

    Like

  4. Thank you for stopping by! I really do appreciate your taking the time to leave a comment…I read each and everyone of them. I hope your day is a good one and that you will come back again soon. Have a lovely day! Take care. Nelson Souzza 🙂

    Like

  5. This is beautiful Kay! 🙂 And one thing I so envy you for and I love about your poetry is the choice of your titles. So rich and I hardly resist to pass them! 😀

    Thank you for sharing, and wishing you happy thanksgiving!!

    Like

    • I’ve been very blessed to have written so many poems and not to have given any the same title. Thank you for the compliment, Elyas. Happy Thanksgiving to you as well! There is always so much to be thankful for, isn’t there? 🙂

      Like

  6. This is whimsically fun to read. I love the photo. It is descriptive
    all by itself.
    Wonderful ..
    Isadora

    Like

  7. Fishmare?
    I keep having recurring dreams of fish.
    Fish everywhere. Fish in water, fish in
    malls, fish in my bedroom, fish in the
    halls, fish flopping about on their sides,
    fish staring at me with their mouths open
    wide, mostly goldfish and large-mouthed
    bass, can someone tell me what significance
    this has?
    Kay Salady
    September 17, 2010

    Like

Leave a comment